The Girl he Left Behind – another wonderful read from Lesley Hayes

I once said I’d enjoy a shopping list written by Lesley Hayes, and this is still true. She has a calm and unhurried style that soothes and relaxes but takes you to places inside yourself you didn’t really want to go. When you get there, however, you realise the truth and honesty of her writing, and it makes a deep connection. ‘Yes, I’ve been there, and she knows exactly what it’s like.’ There’s a healing in that, knowing that someone understands and that you’re not alone. The Girl He Left Behind is about change, choices, the curse of unbreakable love, and the inability to let go and distance ourselves emotionally. It’s heartbreaking to see the damage such ‘old’ love can do to a person and to a new relationship. How it cripples us. I have to say I was rooting for Annie! Well done, Ms Hayes – another wonderful read. Get it here


3 thoughts on “The Girl he Left Behind – another wonderful read from Lesley Hayes

  1. I agree with you completely, Rebecca. Here is my review.
    5.0 out of 5 starsAn Exploration of Love
    5 June 2018
    Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
    The Girl He Left Behind is the perfect title for this novel in a way so few are. Kat tells the story, and she is the girl Alex left behind, and yet Alex too leaves behind the girl who was Alex. I spent late evenings of several busy days reading more chapters than was probably wise, but longer still assessing my own life. Lesley Hayes chooses to feature lesbian love in Kat, but motherlove, or lack of it, in Alex’s daughter Petra. What is it about mothers and daughters that can create a lasting friendship or utter rejection? This is the first of this author’s books I have read but it won’t be the last.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.