Long-tailed tits on teasels

This watercolour was inspired by an early morning walk to a little patch of common ground near where I live.

The teasels were silhouetted against the sky and bushes, and the twittering of long-tailed tits betrayed their presence as they flitted from bush to bush. I look out for them every spring as they move past to their nesting sites.

It’s executed in watercolour with some added acrylic ink for the darks and speckles of masking fluid for the highlights. It didn’t come out quite as I intended, my paintings rarely do, but it sold at a recent exhibition, so I only have this photograph to remember it by. Letting my work go, isn’t always easy!


4 thoughts on “Long-tailed tits on teasels

  1. It’s lovely, Rebecca. Here (SW Canada) we have bushtits which travel in small family flocks, making all and sundry aware of their presence by their twittering. Sweet little things.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sha’Tara. Your bushtits sound very similar. Our Long-tailed tits travel in family group,s too. I love to see them flitting from bush to bush ahead of me as I walk the dog. The world is truly a wonderful place.

      Like

      1. I couldn’t agree more. We need to halve our population and realise that this is the only world we have and how truly special it is. It gives us everything we need, but it isn’t inexhaustible. Nature will have her say, one day. I only hope it isn’t too late for the planet.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.